Monday, June 10, 2013

Chinese labor in Africa - China Weekly Hangout

English: Cathay, South China Tigress, in Africa
English: Cathay, South China Tigress, in Africa (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
Ghana arrested last week at least 124 Chinese digging illegally for gold in their country. As so often, this story about China's involvement in Africa raised more questions than it gave answers. Reason enough for the +China Weekly Hangout it dive into the question of Chinese labor in Africa.
How do laborers get into China? Who is hiring them, of any? What can Chinese do better than Africans? And how is the relationship between Chinese and African labor?
We are happy to have veteran journalist +Eric Olander of the China Africa Projects in our hangout, to discuss his viewpoint on this flash-point in Africa.
Are you interested to join? Leave your comments here or at our event page. You can join the hangout on Thursday 13 June, at 10pm Beijing Time, 4pm CEST (Europe) and 10am EST (US/Canada).
During the event, you can also leave your comments and remarks at Google+, our YouTube channel and Twitter (ad hashtag #CWHCWH). You can watch the hangout in Thursday here or at our event page.



Earlier this week, the China in Africa Podcast analysed the Ghana-incident and how Western, Chinese media have reported about them, and how "lazy, shitty journalism" on each side gave a simplified edition of a pretty complicated story.

Hosted by +Eric Olander and Sino-African scholar Cobus van Staden the China in Africa Podcast is a weekly discussion on the people, culture and politics surrounding China's deepening engagement in Africa. Subscribe to the show on iTunes.




Earlier this year, on March 7, the China Weekly Hangout discussed with Eric Olander, together with journalist +Lara Farrar,  the position of Chinese media in Africa. Moderation by +Fons Tuinstra, president of the China Speakers Bureau.



Enhanced by Zemanta
Post a Comment